bovada sportsbook
Sports Betting Odds, Lines, News and Articles – Bovada Sportsbook

Quarterbacks Dominate NFL MVP Odds

Quarterbacks Dominate NFL MVP Odds - Bovada Sportsbook

Quarterbacks have dominated NFL MVP wins over the past decade, so it is no surprise to see the top seven candidates as signal callers this year as well, according to oddsmakers.

In the last 10 years, Adrian Peterson is the only non-quarterback to take home the award in 2012 when he rushed for a career-high 2,097 yards and scored 12 touchdowns for the Minnesota Vikings.

Tom Brady of the New England Patriots is the 2017 favorite to earn his third regular-season NFL MVP at +550. However, the Patriots and their fans probably do not want him to win it this year. The previous two times he did win NFL MVP, New England did not end up winning the Super Bowl.

In fact, the NFL MVP has not won the award and the Vince Lombardi Trophy in the same season since Kurt Warner of the St. Louis Rams back in 1999.

While Brady is the front-runner, there are still plenty of other worthy candidates on the betting board.

Aaron Rodgers (+700) of the Green Bay Packers and Derek Carr (+900) of the Oakland Raiders are next in line as the second and third choices, followed by Ben Roethlisberger (+1000) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Dak Prescott (+1200) of the Dallas Cowboys, Russell Wilson (+1600) of the Seattle Seahawks and reigning MVP Matt Ryan (+1600) of the Atlanta Falcons.


Reigning MVP Ryan Lost in Super Bowl

Ryan and the Falcons lost the Super Bowl to Brady and the Patriots after blowing a 28-3 lead. The NFL MVP has now lost the big game three of the previous four years, becoming somewhat of a jinx for the winner.

Of that group, Roethlisberger is the most established player who has yet to win NFL MVP. He offers value considering Pittsburgh’s offense might be the best in the league. But teammate Le’Veon Bell could take some credit and votes away from him too considering how important the running back is for the Steelers.

Bell is also listed at +1600 as the first non-quarterback on the board followed by running back Ezekiel Elliott (+2000) of the Cowboys. Elliott lost Rookie of the Year to teammate Prescott last year.


*Odds as of July 10, 2017


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *